Eight-grain no-knead bread

It couldn’t get much more simple than this. I used to make this bread every few weeks when I lived in Ottawa, but haven’t made it since the move out East. Well, I finally got around to going to the Bulk Barn to pick up the grains I needed and am very happy to share this easy recipe.

If you’re not a fan a kneading, or want to make bread but don’t have much time, this is the recipe for you!

Ingredients: 

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup 8 or 12 grain mix
1/4 teaspoon yeast
1 1/4 teaspoon salt
1 5/8 cups warm water

Directions:

Put the yeast in the warm water and let it froth for ~10 minutes. Put all the ingredients into a bowl, mix lightly, and cover the bowl with plastic wrap. Leave the dough, covered, for ~18 hours (leaving the dough overnight works well). After ~18 hours, put the dough in a loaf pan and leave it to rise, uncovered, for about two hours. Pre-heat oven to 375°F. Bake for 20 minutes at this temperature. Lower oven temperature to 350°F and bake for another 20 minutes.

As with many of the recipes I share, this is a great one for experimentation. If I have it on hand, I usually switch up the 8-grain mix for some of my favourite Dorset cereal or muesli. This definitely isn’t a sandwich bread, but it’s great for toast and snacking, and it freezes well. 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Eight-grain no-knead bread”

  1. Rebecca says :

    I really should try making this bread! It looks lovely, and homemade bread always tastes so much better.

Leave a comment