Hundreds of perogies

Ok, not hundreds, the plural, but close enough. I first made these with my friend, Amy, a few months ago. Seriously, I was taken aback by how much easier perogies are to make then I originally thought. When I was told what ingredients I needed to pick up because we’d be making 150 perogies… well, I went a little over board. New 10kg bag of potatoes, huge block of cheese, several onions…

As you’ll see below, however, the recipe for 150 perogies is not so intimidating. I’ve changed some of the quantities from the original recipe, just to get a slightly more manageable batch and to try to get a perfect balance between dough and filling. I did, to my surprise and delight, actually reach that happy medium and didn’t have to waste any of my ingredients. This modified recipe will get you ~125 perogies.

Here’s what you’ll need:

Dough:
5 cups all-purpose flour
2/3 cup cold, cubed butter
1 1/2 cup cold water
1 egg
1 tsp salt
3 tbs sour cream

Filling:
4 large potatoes
~ 300 grams sharp cheddar
1 large onion

Of course, you can get creative with the filling – garlic, chives, bacon, you name it!

Here’s how it’s done:

Mix together the flour and salt. Cut in the butter – a mixer is handy for this, but not essential. Mix together the water, egg, and sour cream. Make a well in the flour, pour in the water mixture, and mix into an elastic dough. Let sit, covered with a tea towel, for about 20 minutes or while you make the filling.

Peel and boil the potatoes. While the potatoes are cooking, chop and sauté the onion. Once the potatoes are cooked, mash them, then mash in the cheese and onion. Let cool to a handling temperature.

Take a potion of the dough, about a handful, and roll it out to at least 1/4 in. Cut out rounds using a circle cookie cutter or, as in my case, a wine glass. Pick up the round and even it/flatten it out a bit more with your hands. Take a 1 tsp amount of filling, place it in the middle of the round, and fold up the perogie. I usually pinch it closed, but some people use water to make a seal.

Repeat, repeat, repeat!

Lay flat to freeze, then they can be bagged up for a delicious meal another day. Do, of course, leave some aside for tonight. To cook, place in boiling water and cook until they float. For crispy perogies and some delicious sides, fry up the perogies with some onion, kielbasa, sauerkraut, you name it!

Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to “Hundreds of perogies”

  1. jimmyandcha says :

    Looks really yummy. Thanks for following my post.

  2. Yudith @ Blissfully Delicious says :

    I have this on my list-to make. Yours looks delicious. Thanks for sharing. P.S.: First time visitor here 🙂

  3. Kiki says :

    I, too, always thought these were way too much work. But I guess there’s no excuse now not to make them after your post. Will definitely give this a try, and am already looking forward to experiment with different fillings. With about 100 perogies there’s enough room for experimenting 🙂

    • sixtypercentbaking says :

      I was honestly so intimidated to start making perogies, but they’re really quite easy! Also, considering the number of meals you can get out of a batch, they’re definitely worth learning how to make.

  4. zaynn4mum says :

    Reblogged this on zaynn4mum.

Leave a Reply

