Basic bread done two ways

Sometimes (okay, pretty often), I get into a mood where all I want to do is bake. This past weekend was no exception, but I wanted to try something new. I had a box of spices and seeds that I had trekked across the country with me and that I knew had to be used. I tried to think of a way of incorporating as many as possible into a new recipe. I grabbed my closest baking book and began searching for a good, simple recipe for white bread. I wanted something basic, so that I could add my own choice of herbs and seeds. I found something that couldn’t have been easier or more perfect – a four ingredient recipe for white bread.

Here’s the base recipe:

4 1/4 cups flour
2 tsp salt
430 ml warm water
1 tbs yeast

Add the yeast to the warm water and let it sit until it becomes foamy. About 15 minutes. Mix the salt into the flour. When the yeast is ready, add it to the flour mixture and mix yourself up a dough-y storm. Cover and set the dough aside for 2-3 hours to rise. Once it has doubled in bulk, split the dough in two and work in your own melange of seeds / herbs. Either place the dough in a loaf pan to rise again or, like I did, section the dough into small balls and put them in a muffin tin to rise. After about 1 hour, bake at 350F for ~20 minutes (for rolls) or ~40 minutes (for a loaf).

Seasoning choice:
Loaf 1: sesame, poppy, and caraway seeds
Loaf 2: basil, oregano, and chili flakes


After its second rising, I split each half loaf into six and baked it in my square muffin tin.

Using a simple recipe like the one above is a great way to bake an easy loaf of bread, but also be able to add your own spices and flavours. Have you tried this technique before? What are you favourite go-to recipes?

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

