Order for pie and cupcakes!

Yesterday, after a lovely day of work à la bibliothèque, I spent a few hours on an order for an apple pie and chocolate cupcakes. Obviously, I was thrilled about this. I love baking so much, but if I were to bake as much as I’d like to… well, you know what would happen. Getting baking orders gives me the chance to bake without having to eat everything. Score!

So, here’s what I had the pleasure of putting together yesterday:

Apple pie with weaved crust

Chocolate cupcakes with vanilla icing

The recipes for both of these items can be found by clicking on the photo titles, which will link you to former blog posts.

Looking for some snazzy baking tips?

  • Weaving your pie crust (yes, making your own pie crust is actually super easy) takes some patience, but is definitely worth the effort. Simply roll out the second half of your dough as normal, cut it into 1/2 inch strips, then begin weaving them on top of the pie. Start with one horizontal, then vertical, and so on, lifting alternating strips for each additional one you lay across. You can decide how tight you’d like the weave to be.
    • Extra snack: if you have pie pastry and a few bits of apple filling left over, roll out the pastry, cut it into strips, place an apple chunk on each 1/2 strip, roll it up, bake for 15-20 minutes. Mmmmmm. Mini apple pie bite.
  • Before baking, lightly brush the crust of your pie with cream or egg white, then sprinkle some of the cinnamon-sugar mixture used for the filling on top. This will make the crust golden brown and have a nice visual texture.
  • I would highly recommend making the slight extra investment in vanilla bean paste for icing. The flavour is much more natural and rich. I purchase mine online for about $12/4oz bottle.
  • Try to get your hands on at a few key piping tips. Having just a few tips will give you a huge variety of decorating options.
  • Do not refrigerate your cupcakes. Refrigerating will dry them out really quickly. Instead, consider placing them in a lidded tin or in a dish with plastic wrap on top.

** Also! I’ve added a page called “Custom” to my blog. The purpose of this is pretty self-evident. If you live in the Halifax area and would like to discuss a custom baking order, give me a ring or send me an email!

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Order for pie and cupcakes!”

  1. Veronika says :

    Those cupcakes look wonderful, with all the piped frosting! I’d love to make them but boyfriend is egg-white allergic. Do you have any good cake-base tips that don’t use egg whites (separated yolks are ok), by any chance?

    P.S. I can totally relate to baking and having someone else eat it – less of it sticks to my behind that way! 😀

    • sixtypercentbaking says :

      All the recipes I’ve ever used for cakes include eggs, unfortunately. Have you tried using a standard recipe with separated yolks only? Does it affect the outcome of the cake a lot? That’s a tough allergy to work around for baking. I’ll keep my eye out, though!

      • Veronika says :

        Hey and thanks for the reply!

        I’ve tried standard recipes using the yolks only, but you just don’t get the same lift, sadly. I’ve tried some workarounds (some work better than others!), and I’m still planning to try bananas (I heard mashed bananas do help), so we’ll see – and if you do hear something, by all means, please do let me know!

Leave a Reply

