It’s autumn! New recipe! Pumpkin bread!

OK, I’m really excited about this. I experimented with a new recipe and it turned out so well!

After making pumpkin cupcakes last weekend, I decided I wanted to continue the pumpkin-themed trend. Doing some searching online unfortunately didn’t yield any recipes that looked good for what I had in mind. I wanted to make a loaf of bread, with pumpkin as the star ingredient. Everything I was finding, however, ended up being for pumpkin loaf (sweet, not savoury)  or pumpkin muffins. I wanted bread. B.R.E.A.D. Not a treat, but a sandwich-maker, a food to be toasted in the morning and topped with butter and jam.

For this recipe, I tried to look for something that has an ingredient that could be considered (at least to me) to be “comparable”. I found a recipe for cottage cheese and dill bread in my bread machine book (as a side note a Kitchen Aid mixer essentially replaces any need for a bread machine and mine is long gone). Now I know what your thinking – “you can’t use a bread machine recipe when you’re not using a bread machine”. And to that I say – “shut up, that’s what I’m going to do… it’ll work, trust me”. Okay, it probably did have a risk of failure, but I had a good gut feeling. I substituted the cottage cheese for pumpkin, added extra flour and some cinnamon and made a few other adjustments. The bread turned out to be fluffy, moist, and very tasty. It’s also very filling, without being dense. It’s not super “pumpkin-y”, which might be good for those of you who are weary of this flavour of bread. I think I’d like it to be more pumpkin-y, so this recipe may be updated in the near future.

Here’s what you’ll need to make some pumpkin bread for ThanksG (or whenever):

3/4 cup hot water
1 1/2 tsp yeast
3/4 cup pumpkin
2 tbs butter, softened
4 cups flour
1 1/2 tbs sugar
1 1/2 tsp salt
A few dashes of cinnamon

Here’s how you’ll impress your friends:

Put the yeast in the hot water and let it sit for 15 minutes. It will get frothy.
Mix pumpkin and butter, as best you can, in a mixer.
Add the dry ingredients, then the water-yeast mixture on top.
Mix until dough becomes elastic. If the dough seems too sticky, add a bit more flour.
Bake at 350F for ~30-35 minutes.

Like I said I’m really excited about this recipe. I hope you try it out! Let me know if you have any questions, and I’d also love to hear your comments!


Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “It’s autumn! New recipe! Pumpkin bread!”

  1. Conor Bofin says :

    Great looking recipe. I think i will try it for Halloween. It is the easiest time of the year to get pumpkins here in Ireland.

  2. Rebecca says :

    You are a brave woman to change up a random recipe like that! But it looks like it turned out beautifully!

Leave a Reply

