Stove top popcorn

Chances are you like popcorn. I don’t think I know of anyone who doesn’t, really. Though I do apologize to those folks with braces who actually listen to their dentist and don’t secretly snack on the occasional popped kernel of corn…

While I do love this snack, I’m not the biggest fan of microwave popcorn. I used to think that there weren’t many alternatives, even though I’d always notice bags of kernels at the grocery store. I guess part of me thought I’d need one of those clunky old plug-in popping devices, like the one I used as a kid. Thankfully I was taken out of this terrible ignorance by a friend who showed me how simple stove top popcorn is. Super simple! Super delicious! Yes! You can’t go wrong.

Intrigued?

Here’s what you’ll need:

1/4 – 1/3 cup kernels
1 large pot with lid
2 – 3 tbs olive oil
Salt (to taste)
Seasoning (optional)

Here’s how:

  1. Put 2-3 tbs of olive oil in the pot, add three kernels to the pot. Place the pot, with lid atop, on the stove at medium heat (number 6 would be good).
  2. When the three kernels pop, remove the pot from the heat. Add the remaining kernels. Salt can also be added at this stage. Wait 30 seconds before returning the pot to the heat.
  3. Remember to periodically shake the pot back and forth to ensure even cooking. When shaking make sure the lid is closed. When the pot is stationary on the stove, angle the lid so there is a small gap.
  4. Continue this shaking-waiting process until your kernels have stopped popping.
  5. Transfer to a bowl, salt/season to taste, and enjoy!
Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Stove top popcorn”

  1. A Hint Of Garlic says :

    Mmm popcorn, garlic and herb is our current favourite ! ( Bit like a popcorn version of garlic bread )

Leave a Reply

