Traditional chocolate cupcakes with vanilla frosting + decorating practice

Like I said in my last post, I’ve been wanting to switch up my cupcake decorating and experiment with some new icing designs. One design I’ve had my eye on for a while is this one that I found on the blog i am baker. Because I was more intent on experimenting with a new icing design than trying out new flavours, I decided to go back to my traditional chocolate cupcake and vanilla frosting recipes. This is actually, finally, for real my last baking post before the move. I’ll be packing up my kitchen tonight -_- 

I followed the decorating technique as described on the blog above, using #103 and #102 tips for the different colours. Getting the different shades of blue was easy – simply add a small amount of colouring gel to the icing, mix, load half the icing into a piping bag, add another small amount of colouring, mix, add the remaining icing into a second piping bag. Making this design is pretty simple, too, and just takes a bit of patience.

Here are the recipes I used:

Chocolate cupcakes
1 1/3 cups flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup softened butter
1 cup sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla
2 eggs
3 oz melted dark chocolate
1 cup milk

Cream butter and sugar. Add eggs. Add melted chocolate. Mix dry ingredients together. Add vanilla to milk. Start with 1/3 of dry into wet, add half of the liquid, repeat. Bake at 350F for ~20 minutes.

Vanilla frosting
4 oz butter, cold + cubed
1 tbs vanilla bean paste (or vanilla extract)
3-4 cups icing sugar
2 tbs cream

Cream butter and vanilla bean paste. Add icing sugar, mixing well. Add cream and more sugar/butter to reach the desired taste and consistency.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Traditional chocolate cupcakes with vanilla frosting + decorating practice”

  1. Rebecca says :

    Not only were these beautiful, they were exceptionally tasty. Yum!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Lemon cupcakes with vanilla and matcha tea frosting « - February 19, 2012

Leave a Reply

