DIY button earrings

Well I’ve finally started actually getting some things ready for ravenswing!

I’m starting simple – button earrings. Because all the buttons I’m using are recycled (aka from a basket of buttons given to me by my grandma…), it’s taken a while to sort through them, find matching pairs and make combinations that work well together. Nonetheless, I’ve got the first 10 pairs picked out and they’re ready for assembly. I bought some earring clasps – the kind with the flat surface, not the dangle-y kind. Deciding the best way to hold everything together, I was first thinking of just using hot glue, but I wanted to make sure that they’d stay together and last for a long while. I settled on sewing them. I placed the earring clasp through a hole in the larger button, placed a small circle of similar-coloured fabric on top to cover the silver, then put the smaller button on top. I sewed through three of the four holes to make everything stay together and BAM! You have an earring… repeat, repeat, repeat. Once you get started it goes pretty quickly and I’m happy with how they’re turning out so far.

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “DIY button earrings”

  1. London says :

    Amazing

    Ps: you can still join our Chanel giveaway ^-^

  2. Deborah the Closet Monster says :

    This is awesome! I had one pair of (albeit dangly) button earrings in college, but lost one and tossed the other after a couple of years. I forgot how much I’d loved those till right now. It’s about time I started looking for new button earrings!

    Rock on for diving in to this endeavor 🙂

Leave a Reply

