Florence is wonderful

It’s true – Florence is cool. It was a great post-Venice city, a nice change of pace. Very different from both Venice and Rome. A city with more of an energy than Venice, probably due to the fact that you can actually feel that people live and work in Florence, but it wasn’t as large or metropolitan as Rome. Regardless, I really enjoyed Florence and would definitely go back. The leather market was good, the people were friendly, and the food and drink was deliciously fantastic.


One morning I woke up around 7AM and wandered around. I soon found the river that runs through the city, took a few photos, then just sat on a bench and watched people as they went to work (heh – vacation is so very good). I found this a really good city to wander. It wasn’t too big, but there were lots of things to look at and lots of buildings with free admission that you can check out. The only major touristy thing I did was climb the duomo of the Basilica di Santa Maria del Fiore. I’m kind of mildly terrified of straight-vertical heights, so I wasn’t “able” to stop and take the time to get a good shot on the inside of the dome, but I was fine once on top. Amazing, amazing views and incredibly beautiful building, as you can see from the details on the outside. I really enjoyed doing this and it was a great lead up to the excitement of the ancient-ness of Rome. More on that later. For now, here are a few of my favourite photos from Florence. Cool times!

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

