Cheese bread is good bread

It’s not the nicest of days here (cloudy and dull), so I thought of making something that cheers the dullest of days… Cheese bread! Yeah! Yum! I’m not sure about you, but I love cheese. It’s just great, there’s no denying it.

The recipe I used is from this cookbook, but since it’s not on the web I typed it out below in case anyone is interested.

Let’s just say I highly recommend this recipe. It was very simple and easy to follow. I used a slightly shorter baking time, which I reflected in the recipe below. Of course, keep in mind that every oven is different and, as you know yours best, you’ll know how long to bake it for. Also, I may recommend maybe the slightest bit less salt, maybe 1/4 tsp less. The bread turned out great: it’s nice and light, cheese-y, fluffy, moist. What more can I say?

Go make this bread now. Then eat it. I wish you good luck. Let me know how it turns out.

 

Ingredients:
1 tbsp dry yeast
250 ml lukewarm milk
1 oz butter
420 g flour
2 tsp salt
100 g grated cheese

Do this:
1. Combine yeast and milk. Stir and leave for 15 minutes to dissolve.
2. Melt butter. Let cool. Add to yeast mixture.
3. Mix flour and salt. Make well in centre. Pour in yeast mixture.

4. Stir. Then knead.
5. Let rise for 2-3 hours or until doubled in bulk.
6. Knead in cheese until distributed evenly.

7. Place dough in loaf pan and let rise until past the rim of tin.
8. Bake for 15 mins at 450F, then for 25 minutes at 375F.
9. Enjoy!

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Cheese bread is good bread”

  1. Rebecca says :

    This looks amazing!!! Yum.

  2. canuckgoingdutch says :

    Hey! I saw this post on Facebook and then I creeped your blog – it is preeeetty awesome!!!!
    So I am totally going to rock this cheese bread. But I’ve only ever made bagels before, never an actual loaf of bread or anything. Just curious…for step #4 approximately how long do ya knead for? I always get it wrong with these sorts of things! 😛

    • sixtypercentbaking says :

      Hey! Sorry for not replying sooner. I’m so glad you’re going to try it out. I actually just finished making another loaf.

      In step 4 I knead for several minutes, probably 7-10 minutes if you’re doing it by hand. Keep going until everything is mixed in, it takes a while cause I find that the liquid to dry ratio is just perfect. The dough shouldn’t be too sticky. I have a stand mixer, so I use that and I let it go for about one minute after everything is incorporated from the side of the bowl. I hope this helps!

      Let me know how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

