Lemon cupcakes with vanilla-lemon icing

Last Sunday I decided to make lemon cupcakes. The original plan was to make cream cheese icing, having seen many recipes for lemon cupcakes with this icing, but I decided on the more simple, easy vanilla. I used this recipe for the cupcakes and the icing. I have to say, the cupcake recipe (minus the thyme, because I didn’t have any on hand/couldn’t find any fresh at the grocery) was pretty tasty and accurate. The icing recipe, however, was not… I added much more butter, maybe 3-4 tbsp more, and much less sugar, maybe a total of 1 3/4 cups. The icing, with an added 1 tbsp of lemon zest and with the aforementioned changes, was quite delicious. I also noticed that with this recipe the cupcakes didn’t puff up as much, which I liked. My chocolate ones, posted below, ended up being way too big because of this. These ones ended up being a little small, but very fluffy and moist. I only took one photo this time, since it had been a long weekend and, to be honest, I forgot to take photos until near the end. This is definitely a recipe (when altered) and flavour I will continue to make.

Tags: , , ,

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Lemon cupcakes with vanilla and matcha tea frosting « - February 19, 2012

Leave a Reply

