Grapefruit cupcakes with matcha tea frosting in a half-packed kitchen

Baking is getting more and more challenging in the final weeks (less than two!) ’til my move to Halifax. Oddly enough, all I seem to want to do is bake for my friends that I’ll be saying bye to and bake to take my mind off the stress of moving. I’ve been putting off the packing up of my kitchen, since I won’t be able to do anything once my tools get  moved into their boxy homes for transport. Nonetheless, I still managed to whip up some cupcakes last night, while dodging boxes and finding substitutes for the tools I had already packed.

I found the recipe for these cupcakes on the terrific blog 17 and baking and have been dying to make them for months. Here’s the recipe as I adapted it:

Grapefruit cupcakes:
1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cups softened butter
1 1/4 cups sugar
Zest of 2 grapefruits
2 large eggs + 2 large egg whites
3/4 cup unsweetened coconut milk
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract

  1. Mix the flour, baking powder and salt together.
  2. In an electric mixer, cream the butter, sugar, and grapefruit zest.
  3. Add the egg whites one at a time, beating well between whites.
  4. Add the dry ingredients in additions, alternating with the wet ingredients (coconut milk + 2 eggs + vanilla) and ending with the dry ingredients.
  5. Fill the lined cupcake tins 2/3 full and bake at 350F for about 20 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Matcha tea frosting:
1/2 cup softened butter
2 cups powdered sugar, sifted
1 teaspoon matcha (green tea powder)
Pinch of salt
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 tablespoons milk or cream

  1. Beat the butter in an electric mixer on medium speed for a few minutes.
  2. Add the powdered sugar and matcha and mix on the lowest speed. 
  3. Then beat on medium speed and add the vanilla extract, then the milk.
  4. Depending on how thick you want your frosting, add more butter or milk.

I’m happy with how this recipe turned out, though in my head I had imagined them tasting a bit more grapefruit-y. I’m pondering a way to incorporate some of the juice of the grapefruit, in addition to the zest already used. I really enjoyed the frosting, though. It’s such a light flavour, perfect for summer, and could be easily paired with a tasty beverage.

I’m not sure yet what will be next on my cupcake experimentation list, but I’m sure there will be many non-cupcake posts coming in the near future. I’ve been thinking that I need to practice my cake decorating skills, so many an opportunity will present itself for my to try one decorated like this? Or maybe this?

Tags: , , , , ,

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Lemon cupcakes with vanilla and matcha tea frosting « - February 19, 2012

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 396 other followers

